

## N.13: Awards and Honours

#### N.13.1: Award to Shri R. S. Shinde

Shri R. S. Shinde, Outstanding Scientist and Head, Accelerator Magnet Technology Division, has been awarded **The Best Citizens of India Award** by International Publishing House, New Delhi on February 15, 2018. The award, given in recognition of his exceptional calibre, outstanding performance in science & engineering and services to the society, carried a medal, citation and certificate.



### N.13.2: Award of Ph. D. Degree

Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI), a Deemed University has awarded Ph. D. degree to following employees/students of RRCAT:

1. Dr. Gangadhar Das was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Depth Resolved Structural and Chemical Studies of Nanostructured Materials using Synchrotron Radiation" which was supervised by Dr. M. K. Tiwari.



**2. Dr. Tufan Roy** was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Effect of Substitution on Electonic Structure, Magnetic and Mechanical Properties of Ni, Pt and Mnbased Heusler Alloys", which was supervised by Dr. Aparna Chakrabarti.



**3. Dr. G. K. Varshney** was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Second Harmonic (SH) Spectroscopic Studies on the Effect of Curcumininduced Adsorption and Transport Characteristics of an Organic Cation across a Lipid Bilayer", which was supervised by Dr. Kaustuv Das.



**4. Dr. Paromita Sarbadhikary** was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Life Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Studies on photodynamic and photonactivation treatment of cancer cells using chlorophyll derivative conjugated to copper iodide", which was supervised by Dr. Alok Dube.



**5. Dr. D. Jana** was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Spectroscopic Characterization of MBE Grown AlGaN/GaN Heterostructures", which was supervised by Dr. T. K. Sharma.



**6. Dr. S. K. Khamari** of Materials Science Division was awarded Doctor of Philosophy in Physical Sciences on the dissertation, titled "Transport Studies of Spin Polarized Carriers in Semiconductors", which was supervised by Dr. T. K. Sharma.



## N.13.3: Thesis Presentation Awards

1. Dr. Ali Akbar Fakhri, SO/G, Accelerator Physics Section has been conferred the First Prize for Ph. D. Thesis Presentation during 8<sup>th</sup> DAE-BRNS Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (InPAC-2018) held at RRCAT, Indore during January 9-12, 2018. The title of the thesis was "Study of Beam Injection, Beam Optics and Insertion Devices for Synchrotron Radiation Sources: A case



study of Indus-1 and Indus-2". The award consisted of a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 5000.

2. **Dr. Yashvir Kalkal** has been conferred the Consolation Prize for Ph. D. Thesis Presentation during 8<sup>th</sup> DAE-BRNS Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (InPAC-2018) held at RRCAT, Indore during January 9-12, 2018. The title of the thesis was "Theoretical Studies on Electron Beam based Compact Terahertz Sources". The award consisted of a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 1000.



# N.13.4: Poster Presentation Awards

**N.13.4.1:** The following 5 posters of RRCAT received awards in various categories during 8<sup>th</sup> DAE-BRNS Indian Particle Accelerator Conference (InPAC-2018) held at RRCAT, Indore during January 9-12, 2018.

1. *Title:* Development and Installation of Upgraded Beam Position Indicators for Indus-2 Synchrotron Radiation Source



Authors: Lokesh Kumar Babbar, Mukesh Kumar, B. N. Upadhyay, V. K. Bhatnagar, Brahmanand Sisodia, Y. Tyagi, Rahul Jain, A. C. Holikatti, Surendra Yadav, Deepjwalit Vaishnav, S. Sarkar, S. K. Tiwari, D. P. Yadav, R. Sridhar and T. A. Puntambekar

Shri Lokesh Kumar Babbar, SO/E, BDCSD, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper, received the First Prize for

Poster Presentation which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹5000.

2. *Title:* Design, Development and Commissioning of a Compact Dipole with Large Aperture for Beam Dump in IR-FEL

*Authors:* Sona Chandran, B. Biswas and K. K. Pant

Smt. Sona Chandran P., SO/D, FELUS, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper, received the Consolation Prize for Poster Presentation which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 1000.



Authors: Arup Ratan Jana, Mukesh Kumar Pal, Ram Prakash, Rahul Gaur and Vinit Kumar

Shri Arup Ratan Jana, SO/E, ABPS, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper, received the First Prize for Student Poster Presentation which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 4000.

4. *Title:* Operational Experience of Transverse Bunch by Bunch Feedback System of Indus-2

Authors: Surendra Yadav, Anil C. Holikatti, Avanish Ojha, Rahul Jain, Akhilesh Kumar Karnewar, Lokesh Kumar Babbar, B. B. Sonawane and T. A. Puntambekar

**Shri Surendra Yadav,** SO/F, BDCSD, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper,

received the **Third Prize for Student Poster Presentation** which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 2000.

5. *Title:* Calibration and Restoration of Low Emittance Beam Optics in Indus-2 Storage Ring









Authors: Riyasat Husain and A. D. Ghodke

Shri Riyasat Husain, SO/F, APS, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper, received the Consolation Prize for Student Poster Presentation which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹1000.



**N.13.4.2:** The following paper received the Nucleonix-ISRP Award (1<sup>st</sup> Best Technical Paper Award) in 21<sup>st</sup> National Symposium of Radiation Physics (NSRP-21) held at RRCAT, Indore during March 05 - 07, 2018.

1. *Title:* Radiation Shielding Evaluation for 3 MeV Proton Linac at RRCAT, Indore *Authors:* M. K. Nayak, P. K. Sahani, D. S. Joshi, Haridas. G, S. K. Suhane, Tapas Bandyopadhyay, V. K. Senecha, G. Parchani, T. A. Puntambekar and R. M. Tripathi



**Dr. M. K. Nayak,** SA/F, HPD, BARC posted at HPU, BDCSD, RRCAT, who presented the poster paper, received the award which carried a Certificate and a prize money of ₹ 25000.

# N.13.5: Awards in 31st Annual Rose Show Exhibition

A competition was organized during the 31<sup>st</sup> Annual Rose Show Exhibition by Malwa Rose Society, Department of Horticulture and Food Processing (Govt. of M.P.) and Indore Municipal Corporation at Gandhi Hall, Indore on February 2-3, 2018. RRCAT has bagged following prizes under different categories:

- 1<sup>st</sup> Prize for "Best Largest Garden-Rose" in Institutional Gardens category
- 1<sup>st</sup> prize for Cut Flower in Hybrid Tea Rose category
- 2<sup>nd</sup> prize for Cut Flower in Hybrid Tea category (3 Nos.)
- Consolation prizes for Cut Flowers in Floribunda/Hybrid Tea Rose category (5 Nos.)

Shri. G. Parchani, Chief Engineer, RRCAT and his team received the awards.

